‘Focus’ Retreat Focuses on Photography

February 12, 2014




Photo-Retreat2_IN

Ben Nickles teaches lighting with strobes. Photo by Jeff and Amanda Dixon Photography.

CARNATION, Wash.—Camp Gilead held its first-ever photography retreat. Sixty young people and adults attended Jan. 24 and 25.

Camp alums Ben and Molly Nickles of Ben and Molly Photography joined Phil and Jessica Bentz of Stone Castle Photography in leading workshops. Everyone attended the same workshops on Friday—ethics in photography, photo skills 101, and a short history on photography and digital cameras—and then chose workshops on Saturday based on their skill level. Saturday’s topics included editing in Lightroom and Photoshop, file handling, posing babies and children, photographing weddings, using strobes and lighting, and getting to know your camera.

“Photography is a passion Ben and Molly both enjoyed separately before they met and were excited to meld their creativity and gear together when they married in 2005,” says Camp Gilead. “Not only do they love photography, but they love the Lord and both spent many summers at Camp Gilead, on staff and as campers.”

Keeping with the theme “Focus,” David Lunsford, Molly’s dad and pastor of First Baptist Church, Ferndale, Wash., challenged everyone Friday evening with the message “Getting Your Life in Focus.”

On Saturday the attendees practiced their newly learned skills outdoors while taking photo walks with Ben and Molly.

The weekend retreat wrapped up with a discussion on running a photo business, including websites, marketing, and branding.

Ben and Molly say, “We loved teaching the craft to the next generation, and from the feedback it sounds like they learned a lot too.”

  • Register to participate in “Telling Your Church Story,” a Regular Baptist Web Community Learning Lab with Kevin Mungons, managing editor of the Baptist Bulletin, and Darrell Goemaat, director of photography for Regular Baptist Press. This interactive online Learning Lab will focus on communicating ministry events and activities through writing and photography.
    Thursdays: Feb. 20, 27, March 6, 13
    4 p.m. EST, 3 p.m. CST, 2 p.m. MST, 1 p.m. PST